Awards and honors

Safe Spaces group

Stacy Horn (top right) meets with the Safe Spaces committee, a collaboration between UIC and the Illinois Safe Schools Alliance.


The College of Education was named Ally of the Year by the Illinois Safe Schools Alliance for its leadership in addressing the concerns of LGBTQ students. Stacey Horn, professor of educational psychology, accepted the award at a brunch at the Chicago Cultural Center Oct. 5.


Luis Alberto Urrea, professor of English and distinguished professor in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, was awarded the 2014 Paul Engle Prize, presented by the Iowa City UNESCO City of Literature organization.

The prize honors an individual who represents a pioneering spirit in the world of literature through writing, editing, publishing or teaching, and whose active participation in the larger issues of the day has contributed to a better world through the literary arts. Urrea received the prize, which includes a one-of-a-kind work of art and $10,000, during a ceremony at the Iowa City Book Festival Oct. 4.


Jennifer Girard and Taylor Stanton, students at the College of Medicine at Rockford, received an American Medical Association Foundation Physicians of Tomorrow Award. They are among 21 rising fourth-year medical students selected for the $10,000 national scholarship recognizing academic achievement.

Girard, who wants to become a surgical oncologist in an academic setting, has conducted National Institutes of Health-funded translational research on lung cancer. Stanton is studying medical student attitudes and clinical knowledge about LGBT patients in medical school curriculum.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email