Lorraine Owles, wife of the late Philip Wagreich, and his son, Ian Wagreich, accept an honorary Innovator of the Year Award on his behalf from the Office of Technology Management at a recognition ceremony for outstanding researchers Feb. 20.
Wagreich, professor emeritus of mathematics, statistics and computer science, co-founded the Teaching Integrated Mathematics and Science Project, a company that developed the Math Trailblazers K-5 curriculum, one of UIC’s top royalty-generating patents. Former director of the UIC Institute for Mathematics and Science Education, he died Jan. 1 at age 71. Photo: Roberta Dupuis-Devlin

Mitch King was appointed interim regional dean of the College of Medicine at Rockford, effective March 8.

He succeeds Martin Lipsky, who is retiring after nearly 10 years as regional dean. King, professor of family and community medicine, has been associate dean for academic affairs in the college since 2005.



Lisa Lee, director of the School of Art and Art History and former director of the Jane Addams Hull-House Museum, will receive the Illinois Humanities Council’s Public Humanities Award at the council’s annual benefit luncheon May 21 at the Palmer House Hilton.

Timothy Shanahan, distinguished professor of curriculum and instruction and director of the Center for Literacy in the College of Education, received the William S. Gray Citation of Merit from the International Reading Association.

The award is the association’s highest honor, given for outstanding contributions to the field of reading.



Victoria Chou, dean of the College of Education, was named a fellow of the American Educational Research Association.

The fellows program recognizes the research and scholarship of educators.

Jo Dorsch, professor and regional head librarian at the Library of the Health Sciences at the College of Medicine at Peoria, was named a fellow of the Medical Library Association. She will be honored at an awards event in Boston in May.

Dorsch is an expert on the teaching of evidence-based practice and an advocate of services for rural health professionals.

Lee Jameson, clinical professor of restorative dentistry, was named president of the American College of Prosthodontists at its annual session in Baltimore, Md. The educational and scientific organization works to increase awareness and interest in the field.

Dentistry student Marc Manos won second place at Dentsply International’s 53rd Annual American Dental Association Dentsply Student Clinician Research Award Program. His winning project was honored in the clinical research/public health category.



Beth Richie, director of the Institute for Research on Race and Public Policy, delivered the Raven Lecture on Access to Justice at Berkeley Law, University of California, Feb. 28. Richie spoke on her recent book, Arrested Justice: Black Women, Violence, and America’s Prison Nation.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email




Campus, Faculty, Research, Staff