Award for Excellence in Teaching

George Kondos, professor of cardiology in medicine

George Kondos demonstrates a cardiovascular physical exam on Harvey, a life-size mannequin. “Most recently graduated medical students and early career doctors also have difficulty identifying heart sounds and murmurs,” he says. Photo: Roberta Dupuis-Devlin

Each year, UIC honors some of its most dedicated and outstanding teachers with the Award for Excellence in Teaching. The winners, who receive a $5,000 salary increase, are selected by past recipients of the award from nominations made by departments and colleges.

Read about the winners of the 2015 award:

George Kondos, vice chair of the department of medicine

Sonya Leathers, associate professor of social work

Mark Schlossman, professor and associate head of physics

Theresa (Terri) Thorkildsen, professor of educational psychology

Venkat Venkatakrishnan, professor of computer science