Awards and exhibitions

Luis Alberto Urrea

Luis Alberto Urrea’s novel “Queen of America” received the Premio Metropolis Azul Prize from the Montreal International Literary Festival. Photo: Al DiFranco/UIC Photo Services


Luis Alberto Urrea, professor of English and distinguished professor in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, received the Premio Metropolis Azul Prize from the Montreal International Literary Festival for his novel Queen of America. The annual award is given to a work of fiction written in English, Spanish or French that explores Spanish-language culture or history.


Therese Jorwic, assistant professor of health information management in the College of Applied Health Sciences, received the Literary Legacy Award from the American Health Information Management Association.


Ben Superfine, associate professor of educational policy studies in the College of Education, received the 2014 Critics Choice Book Award of the American Educational Studies Association for Equality in Education Law and Policy: 1954-2010.


B. Taylor Bennett, former associate vice chancellor for research resources, received the 2014 American Veterinary Medical Association Animal Welfare Award. Senior scientific adviser for the National Association for Biomedical Research, he spent 36 years at UIC, where he oversaw the animal care and use program. He is on the board of directors of the Scientist Center for Animal Welfare.


Bing Liu, professor of computer science in the College of Engineering, and co-authors Wynne Hsu and Yiming Ma are the first three recipients of the “test of time” award from KDD, a data mining conference. Their paper, “Integrating Classification and Association Rule Mining,” was named the most important paper of 1998.


Cheryl Nakata, professor and head of marketing in the College of Business Administration, won the Award of Excellence in Reviewing for 2013-14 from the Journal of International Management.


Darcy Benedict, a fourth-year medical student, is one of seven recipients of the 2014 Pisacano Leadership Foundation Scholarship. The awards of up to $28,000 each are given to students who have made commitments to enter the field of family medicine and demonstrate exceptional leadership and academic skills.


Kimberly Alecia Singletary, adjunct lecturer in the School of Literatures, Cultural Studies and Linguistics, received the National Communication Association’s 2014 Gerald R. Miller Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award for her dissertation. She was honored for her dissertation, completed at Northwestern University, on “Blackness Personified: Images of U.S. Blackness in Contemporary German Public Culture.” She will be recognized at the group’s annual convention Nov. 21 to 23 in Chicago.


Daniel Swartzman, professor emeritus of public health, and Jesus Ramirez-Valles, director of community health sciences in the School of Public Health, are among nine winners of the 2014 Health and Medicine Police Research Group Awards for leadership in promoting social justice and health equity. They will be honored at a reception Oct. 14 in Chicago.


Don Kluemper, assistant professor of management in the College of Business Administration, was elected representative-at-large on the board of governors of the Southern Management Association. He is concluding his second three-year term as the association’s communications coordinator.


Andrew Zago, clinical professor of architecture, is among architects whose work is featured in the exhibition “Architecture to Scale” at the Art Institute of Chicago.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email