Awards and honors



Tanya Cabrera, associate director for equity and inclusion in the Office of Diversity, received the Leader Award from the Illinois Latino Council on Higher Education. She was honored for her contributions that improve access and equity for Latinos in higher education.

Rachel Weber, UIC Great Cities Institute fellow and professor of urban planning and policy, received the Best Book Award from the Urban Affairs Association for From Boom to Bubble: How Finance Built the New Chicago. Weber’s book examines the Loop’s office and residential development building boom in the early 2000s, and how an influx of cheap cash made available through complex financing made it possible. The award was presented in April during the association’s annual meeting in Minneapolis.

Kharma Foucher, assistant professor of kinesiology, is the recipient of the 2016 Excellence in Basic, Clinical, and Translational Science award from the Journal of Orthopaedic Research for her article titled, “Identifying Clinically Meaningful Benchmarks for Gait Improvement after Total Hip Arthroplasty,” published in January 2016.

Kinesiology and nutrition doctoral student Kanokwan (Mandy) Bunsawat, advisee of kinesiology assistant professor Tracy Baynard, is the recipient of an American College of Sports Medicine-Gatorade Sports Science Institute Young Scholar Travel Award.

Disability studies doctoral student Hailee Yoshizaki Gibbons is the recipient of a PEO Scholar Award from the PEO Sisterhood. Gibbons is one of 100 doctoral students in the U. S. and Canada selected to receive the $15,000 award.

Peter Orris, adjunct professor of environmental and occupational health sciences in the UIC School of Public Health and chief of service of the Great Lakes Center for Environmental and Occupational Health and Safety, won the World Federation of Public Health Associations’ lifetime achievement award for his contributions to environmental health. Orris is a professor and chief of occupational and environmental medicine at the University of Illinois Hospital and Health Sciences System.

Maria Mckiever, a junior in engineering, won a 2017 Ozy Genius Award. She was awarded $5,000 for her project, Grapevyne, a mobile tool that provides economic opportunity and digital exposure for men and women who style black hair from their homes, while also providing access to affordable stylist services for customers on a budget.



Mary Beth Watson-Manheim, professor of information and decision sciences, has been promoted to senior editor of Information Systems Journal.

Terri Weaver, dean of the College of Nursing, was recently selected to serve a two-year term as an American Association of Colleges of Nursing board member at-large.

Loreen Maxfield, director of retail operations for the UIC Bookstore, was installed as president of the board of the National Association of College Stores.

Craig Niederberger, the Clarence C. Saelhof Professor and head of urology, was recognized as an Honorary Alumni by his alma matter, Harvey Mudd College.

Javier Villa Flores, associate professor of Latin American and Latino studies and history, received a Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst Fellowship to fund a research residency this summer at the Max Planck Institute for European Legal History in Frankfurt, Germany. This will be his second summer there carrying out research in the institute’s library.

Tim Johnson, director of the Survey Research Laboratory in the College of Urban Planning and Public Affairs, began a one-year term as president of the American Association for Public Opinion Research (AAPOR) following the group’s 72nd annual conference held last month in New Orleans.

During the previous year, Johnson served in the elected role of vice president/president-elect. AAPOR is a professional organization of public opinion and survey research professionals in the U.S., with members from academia, media, government, nonprofits and industry.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email