Awards and honors



John Coronado was appointed vice chancellor for administrative services, pending approval by the University of Illinois Board of Trustees, effective April 9.

Coronado most recently was a project management analyst at the U.S. Department of Energy. He was responsible for a construction portfolio of 16 projects valued at more than $26 billion. A native Chicagoan, he received his bachelor’s in general engineering from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He received his master’s in civil engineering at the University of Florida and attended the Advanced Management Program at Duke University’s Fuqua School of Business.

Charles Ray was appointed interim dean of the College of Medicine, effective March 16. He has served as acting dean since July 2017 and head of radiology since January 2014.

Eileen Collins was appointed associate dean for research at the UIC College of Nursing.

Since 2002, Collins has been a professor in the department of biobehavioral health science in the College of Nursing.

She is internationally recognized for her innovative research in pulmonary rehabilitation. She uses exercise interventions to increase exercise tolerance in patients with chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), diabetes, and chronic renal failure.



Elise Archias, assistant professor in art history, received the 2018 Frank Jewitt Mather Award for Art Criticism from the College Art Association for her book, The Concrete Body: Yvonne Rainer, Carolee Schneemann, Vito Acconci. The book examines the 1960s performance work of three New York artists who adapted modernist approaches to form for the medium of the human body.

Margarita Saona, professor and head of Hispanic and Italian studies, was awarded a 2017 Luces Prize for best poetry book in recognition of her book,
Corazón de tinplate. The honor, which is based on reader votes for the year’s greatest creators in film, television, music, theater, gastronomy, literature and visual arts, is presented by Peru’s El Comercio newspaper.

Krishna Reddy, professor of civil and materials engineering, was named the winner of the 2018 Wesley W. Horner Award by the American Society of Civil Engineers. He was recognized for his paper, “Modeling Coupled Hydromechanical Behavior of Landfilled Waste in Bioreactor Landfills: Numerical Formulation and Validation.”

UIC’s Residence Hall Association took home two awards at the Illinois Residence Hall Association conference in February. UIC’s group won for best banner submission for a banner created by Brian Evans, and Lexi Rosenbery was named Illinois Communications Coordinator of the Year.

Joshua Muniz is the recipient of the William J. Grove Award, which is given each year to an outstanding M4 medical student in the College of Medicine. Students are selected for outstanding academic performance, both in the basic science and clinical years, and strong demonstrated leadership qualities in College of Medicine activities in community and professional affairs.



Walter Podrazik, adjunct lecturer in communication, was elected to a three-year term on the board of directors of the Library of American Broadcasting, housed at University of Maryland-College Park. Founded in 1967, the library’s collection is widely recognized as the preeminent national repository for broadcast history, policy and tradition.

Dick Simpson, professor of political science, was a plenary speaker at the American Political Science Association’s Teaching and Learning Conference in Baltimore, Maryland, where his 2017 co-edited book, Teaching Civic Engagement Across the Disciplines, was featured.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email