Awards and honors

Bing Liu, professor of computer science

Bing Liu, distinguished professor of computer science.


Bing Liu, distinguished professor of computer science, was awarded the 2018 SIGKDD Innovation Award. The award is given to one person each year for outstanding technical contributions to the field of knowledge discovery in data and data mining that have had lasting impact. It is the highest award for tech excellence in the field of Knowledge Discovery in Data Mining.

Leslie Sandlow, professor of medicine and medical education in the UIC College of Medicine, was awarded the Portes Foundation Meritorious Lifetime Achievement Award by the Institute of Medicine of Chicago. The award acknowledges leaders in heath care who are committed to the welfare of patients and the health of the citizens of Chicago. The Portes Foundation provides grants for medical research and education in the areas of health maintenance and disease prevention. In particular, our focus is on enabling investigators to launch new and promising lines of research.



Robert Bailey, professor of epidemiology in the School of Public Health, was named a UIC Distinguished Professor.

Alexandra Filindra, UIC associate professor of political science, has been elected editor-in-chief of the American Political Science Association’s The Journal of Race, Ethnicity and Politics.



Qudus Lawal, a senior in civil engineering, was awarded $6,000 as part of the SmithGroup Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Scholarship Program. The award was established to support and mentor students from historically underrepresented demographics in architecture, interior design, planning, landscape architecture and engineering.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Campus, Faculty