Four UIC Students Win Brundage Scholarships

Fifteen University of Illinois students from the Chicago, Springfield and Urbana-Champaign campuses have been awarded Avery Brundage Scholarships for excellence in academics and athletics.

Each winner will receive a $2,500 award for the 2013-2014 academic year.

The four recipients from UIC, their areas of study and sports are: (EDITORS: See list.)

The Avery Brundage Scholarship Fund Committee, composed of nine representatives from the faculties and student bodies of all three campuses, selects students who engage in athletics for personal development, not as preparation for professional sports.  In addition, the students must be working toward bachelor’s, master’s, or doctoral degrees at the University of Illinois and must be in the top 25 percent of their undergraduate class or in good academic standing in their graduate program.

The scholarship program was established in 1974 by an endowment from Avery Brundage, University of Illinois alumnus and former president of the International and U.S. Olympic committees.

CHICAGO — Marina Kravtsova, Applied Health Sciences, triathlons

DEERFIELD — Lukasz Adamcyzk, Liberal Arts and Sciences, gymnastics

EVANSTON — Gardner Yost, Bioengineering, rowing

LAKE IN THE HILLS—Matthew Zaluckyj, Liberal Arts and Sciences, cross-country

Print Friendly, PDF & Email