Outstanding University Scholars

Tanera Marshall

Tanera Marshall, associate professor of theatre, teaches voice. Photo: Joshua Clark/UIC Photo Services


The University Scholars award, now in its 29th year, is given to faculty members who have demonstrated superior performance in scholarly activities — both research and teaching — and show great promise for future achievements.

Sponsored by the University Office of the President, the award includes $10,000 a year for three years.

This year’s winners represent a wide range of disciplines and interests, from electrical engineering to high energy physics to theater.

“It is a labor of love that could not have been achieved by a single person,” said University Scholar and psychiatry professor Mani Pavuluri, who dedicated the award to her clinical and research team.

Here are this year’s award winners:

Carol Ferrans, professor of biobehavioral health science

Tanera Marshall, associate professor of theatre

Sudip Mazumder, professor of electrical and computer engineering

Mani Pavuluri, professor of psychiatry

William Teale, professor of curriculum and instruction

Nikos Varelas, professor of physics

Donald Wink, professor of chemistry

Print Friendly, PDF & Email