Vincent Paglione

Vincent Paglione was honored by Chicago chapter of the American Institute of Architects. Photo: UIC Photo Services


Evelyn Figueroa, assistant professor of family medicine, associate program director of the affiliated family medicine residency program and director of women’s health and obstetrics in family medicine, was named 2012 Family Medicine Teacher of the Year by the Illinois Academy of Family Physicians.

She was honored at the organization’s annual meeting Nov. 9 in Itasca.

A 1999 College of Medicine graduate, she joined the UIC faculty in 2005. Other honors she has received include two teaching awards and the Volunteer of the Year award from the college’s Hispanic Center of Excellence.

Figueroa teaches medical students and residents in the outpatient clinic, inpatient obstetrics clinic and on home visits.

“Currently, 20 percent of family physicians deliver babies and less than 20 percent do colposcopy and women’s health procedures,” she said. “My goal is to train more providers in women’s health and maternity care. I am committed to ensuring that my residents receive the women’s health training they seek.”


Vincent Paglione, who retired in 2010 after 33 years as associate dean for students in the College of Architecture and the Arts, will receive a Distinguished Service Award from the Chicago chapter of the American Institute of Architects at the chapter’s annual meeting Dec. 7.

Paglione’s “impact, service and commitment to students pursuing architecture and the arts has influenced the careers of countless individuals (in ways) we will never be able to fully quantify or comprehend,” his nomination said.

Paglione, special adviser to the dean of the college, works on student success with the vice provost for undergraduate affairs and co-chairs the review of student support programs.

He has received mentoring awards from the Illinois chapter of the National Organization of Minority Architects, Project Osmosis, an initiative for minority youth, and the Hispanic American Construction Industry Association Scholarship Foundation.

In the 1980s he helped establish UIC’s summer architecture program for minority students, a summer institute for architectural theory and several international programs.



Kent Knoernschild, professor of restorative dentistry, was elected to a one-year term as chair of the Commission on Dental Accreditation. He is the first prosthodontist elected to the position.


Eleven UIC mathematicians were named to the inaugural group of 1,119 fellows of the American Mathematical Society.

The award recognizes members who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication and utilization of mathematics.

The UIC fellows, all in the department of mathematics, statistics and computer science, are: Jerry Bona, professor; Laura DeMarco, associate professor; Lawrence Ein, head and distinguished professor;Paul Fong, professor emeritus; Steven Hurder, professor emeritus;Louis Hirsch Kauffman, professor; David Marker, professor; Vera Pless, professor emerita; David Radford, professor emeritus; Stephen D. Smith, professor emeritus; and Bhama Srinivasan, professor emerita.

The fellows will be honored in January at the Joint Mathematics Meetings in San Diego.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Campus, Faculty