Timothy Johnson, director of the Survey Research Laboratory

A book edited by Timothy Johnson was honored by American Association for Public Opinion Research. Photo: UIC Photo Services

Timothy Johnson, director of the Survey Research Lab, received the 2013 Book Award from the American Association for Public Opinion Research for his edited volume, Survey Methods in Multinational, Multiregional, and Multicultural Contexts. The award recognizes books “that have stimulated theoretical and scientific research in public opinion; and/or influenced our understanding or application of survey research methodology.”

James Pellegrino, co-director of the Learning Sciences Research Institute, received the 2013 American Educational Research Association’s Robert L. Linn Distinguished Address Award, which honors a scholar’s contributions in research related to educational measurement and assessment policy. Pellegrino, distinguished professor of psychology and education, will be honored at the association’s annual meeting this month in San Francisco.

John D’Emilio, professor of gender and women’s studies and history, receives two national awards for his work this month. At its annual meeting April 13, the Organization of American Historians presented D’Emilio with the 2013 Roy Rosenzweig Distinguished Service Award, given annually for contributions that significantly enrich the understanding and appreciation of American history.

The group is the largest learned society and professional organization dedicated to the teaching and study of the American past.

The Publishing Triangle, the association of lesbians and gay men in publishing, will present D’Emilio with the 2013 Bill Whitehead Award for Lifetime Achievement April 25 at the 25th annual Triangle Awards in New York City. The award recognizes more than three decades of research and writing by D’Emilio, one of the field’s leading historians and a key contributor to the rising prominence of gay and lesbian issues in American social and political debate.



Five undergraduates were awarded Benjamin A. Gilman scholarships to study abroad.

Scholarships range from $3,000 to $8,000 for study abroad program costs during the spring semester. Scholarship winners are:

Jonathan Boyden, senior in theater performance, Florence, Italy
Julian Collins, senior in urban and public affairs, Valparaiso, Chile
Alexandra Molina, sophomore in information and decision sciences, Paris
Annayeli Munoz, junior in French and Francophone studies and psychology, Dakar, Senegal
Blessing Obioma, undeclared sophomore, Cardiff, Wales.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Campus, Faculty, Students