UIC Researchers of the Year

Joanna Burdette

“Rising Star” Joanna Burdette is among those who will be honored as UIC Researcher of the Year Thursday. Photo: Roberta Dupuis-Devlin/UIC Photo Services

Each year, the Researcher of the Year award recognizes 10 UIC scientists and scholars who are advancing knowledge in their fields.

The Distinguished Researcher Award honors five researchers with a record of outstanding achievement. The Rising Star Award honors early career researchers who show promise as future leaders.

This year’s winners will be honored Thursday, 3:30 to 6 p.m., in the Michele Thompson Rooms, Student Center West.

They are:

Esra Akcan, associate professor and director of graduate studies in art history, College of Architecture, Design and the Arts

Joanna Burdette, associate professor of medicinal chemistry and pharmacognosy, College of Pharmacy

Izzet Coskun, professor of mathematics, statistics and computer science, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Samuel Fleischacker, professor of philosophy, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Anne George, professor of oral biology and Allan G. Brodie endowed professor, College of Dentistry

Lisa Powell, professor of health policy and administration, School of Public Health, and associate director, Health Policy Center, Institute of Health Research and Policy

Aria Razfar, associate professor of curriculum and instruction in the College of Education

Julienne Rutherford, assistant professor of women, child and family health science, College of Nursing

Alan Schwartz, professor and associate head of medical education, and Saul Weiner, professor of medicine, pediatrics and medical education, and vice provost for planning and programs

Philip Yu, distinguished professor of computer science and Wexler chair in information technology, College of Engineering.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email