University Scholars

Tonda Hughes.

Being selected as a University Scholar “is a tremendous honor for me personally, but I am also gratified by the recognition of the importance of research with sexual minority women, one of the most stigmatized groups throughout the world’s population,” says Tonda Hughes. Photo: Alicia McConnell-Hatch

The University Scholars Program, now in its 31st year, honors faculty members for superior research and teaching, along with great promise for future achievements. The award provides $15,000 a year for three years.

Read about the 2015 winners:

Luisa DiPietro, dentistry

Tonda Hughes, nursing

Brian Kay, biological sciences

Dirk Morr, physics

Emad Tajkhorshid, biophysics, biochemistry and pharmacology

Nik Theodore, urban planning and public affairs

Daniela Tuninetti, electrical and computer engineering