Envisioning Equitable Transitions to Sustainable Transportation Systems

Date / Time

May 16, 2024 - May 17, 2024

All Day


Over two days, “Envisioning Equitable Transitions to Sustainable Transportation Systems” will bring together a diverse group of researchers, educators, industry professionals and activists to discuss urgent questions about transitioning to low-carbon transportation systems — whatever they might be — while addressing the needs of all populations regardless of race, ethnicity, or socioeconomic standing. The goals of this gathering are to introduce attendees to cutting-edge issues surrounding sustainable transportation and social justice, to build bridges across different approaches, disciplines and geographies, and to chart new directions toward a sustainable, and just, future.

This event, a collaboration between the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign and the University of Illinois Chicago, is supported by generous funding from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.

To learn more about the program and featured speakers, visit https://sustainability.illinois.edu/outreach/isee-congress/workshop-envisioning-equitable-transitions-to-sustainable-transportation-systems/. Free registration is available online.

U of I organizing committee members include Eleftheria Kontou, Assistant Professor of Civil & Environmental Engineering; Yanfeng Ouyang, Professor of Civil & Environmental Engineering; Juan Salamanca, Assistant Professor of Graphic Design & Design for Responsible Innovation; Julie Cidell, Professor of Geography and Geographic Information Services; Madhu Khanna, iSEE Director and Professor of Agricultural & Consumer Economics; Luis F. Rodríguez, iSEE Associate Director and Professor of Agricultural & Biological Engineering; Philip Krein, Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering; Bumsoo Lee, Associate Professor of Urban & Regional Planning; and Samantha Lindgren, Assistant Professor of Education Policy, Organization, and Leadership.

UIC organizing committee members include Christelle Khalaf, Associate Director of the Government Finance Research Center; Selva Ndarajah, Associate Professor of Information and Decision Sciences; and P.S. Siraj, Director of the Urban Transportation Center and Director of Metropolitan Transportation Support Initiative (METSI) and Research Programs.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email