Celebrating UIC Researchers of the Year

Seungpyo Hong

Seungpyo Hong, assistant professor of biopharmaceutical sciences, is one of 12 UIC scientists who will be honored today as Researcher of the Year, Inventor of the Year and Innovator of the Year. Photo: Roberta Dupuis-Devlin/UIC Photo Services

UIC honors outstanding researchers, innovators and inventors in the basic sciences, clinical sciences, the humanities and natural sciences/engineering at a ceremony today, 3:30-6 p.m. in Student Center West.

Twelve awards will be presented: Inventor of the Year and Innovator of the Year, plus five Distinguished Researcher and five Rising Stars.

This year’s winners are:

Mahnaz Shahidi: Inventor of the Year

Craig Niederberger, Innovator of the Year

Natasha Devroye: Rising Star, Natural Sciences & Engineering 

Xiaoping Du: Distinguished Researcher, Basic Life Sciences 

Leon Fink: Distinguished Researcher, Humanities 

Stacie Geller: Distinguished Researcher, Clinical Sciences 

Rachel Havrelock: Rising Star, Humanities 

Seungpyo Hong: Rising Star, Basic Life Sciences

Bing Liu: Distinguished Researcher, Natural Sciences & Engineering 

Ben Superfine: Rising Star, Social Sciences 

Krista Varady: Rising Star, Clinical Sciences 

Maria Varelas: Distinguished Researcher, Social Sciences 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email