All People

Alejandro Madrid

January 22, 2013

Award-winner highlights music at Mexican border

Musicologist Alejandro Madrid was honored for his latest book, “Transnational Encounters: Music and Performance at the U.S.-Mexico Border.”

Roger Reeves

January 8, 2013

UIC poet wins national literary fellowship

UIC poet Roger Reeves, awarded a fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts, is working on a collection of sonnets concerning the emotional and intellectual legacy of lynching.

AAAS logo

December 12, 2012

Economist, physiology researcher named to world’s largest scientific society

An economist and a physiology researcher are the latest UIC faculty members named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the world’s largest scientific society.

James Searing

December 7, 2012

Deaths: James Searing, ‘tireless advocate’ for students

James Searing, a longtime professor, former department chair and scholar of African history, died unexpectedly at his home in Oak Park.

Vincent Paglione

December 5, 2012


Vincent Paglione, who retired in 2010 after 33 years as associate dean for students in the College of Architecture and the Arts, will receive a Distinguished Service Award from the Chicago chapter of the American Institute of Architects at the chapter’s annual meeting Dec. 7.

J. Christopher Westland

December 5, 2012

STEM scholar named honorary professor at Chinese university

Named overseas chair professor at Beihang University

December 5, 2012

Two recognized for impact in management studies

Business faculty members Robert Liden and Sandy Wayne were recognized as top scholars in their field by the journal “Academy of Management Perspectives.”

David Holt

December 5, 2012

Students honored as ‘future care scholars’

Two UIC students — one in medicine, the other in nursing — are among 40 health care students nationwide to be named 2012 Tylenol Future Care Scholars.

Marlowe Djuric-Kachlic

November 28, 2012

Pharmacy educators earn top honors

Two UIC pharmacy educators received top honors from the Illinois Pharmacists Association.Nicholas Popovich, professor and head of pharmacy administration, was named Illinois Pharmacist of the Year.

Kenneth Thomas at the Old State Capitol

November 28, 2012

Getting involved to spur change

Kenneth Thomas has already won two elections, and he’s hoping there are more wins in his future.

1 96 97 98 99 100